30 Days of Submission- Day 1

30 Days of Submission- Day 1

I am not quite sure where the 30 Days of Submission writing prompts came from originally, but if anyone knows please educate me so that I can give credit where credit is due!  Thank you 🙂

1.Does your submission – either what you practice or what you strive for – have a label? Do you view your submission as Taken in Hand, domestic discipline, top/bottom, dominant/submissive, master/slave, owner/pet, or some other description or combination? If you do not use a label, why?

While I do not consider labels to be all that important, as they fail to ever be all-encompassing, it is inevitable that labels are used in our human quest to describe ourselves and our experiences.  My most important label is the one my husband gave me 14 years ago…wife.  I am my husband’s wife, and this is a label I plan to keep for life.

Another more recent label, which came about for us about 8 months ago, came during our journey with “domestic discipline”.  This label provides an understanding of the power exchange in our marriage.  My husband is the head of our household (HOH) and I am expected to obey him and follow his lead.  It would be accurate to say I have been “taken in hand”.  From there, we progressed to Dominance and submission as descriptive labels.  When we adopted these labels into our dynamic, our power exchange was further cemented and we incorporated a variety of rituals both in and out of the bedroom.

Two other labels which we use when addressing one another are “Daddy” and “baby girl”.  While I wouldn’t use the label “little” to describe myself as much of that label does not accurately describe me, I do very much feel like a “Daddy’s girl”.  My husband takes very good care of me in all ways.  He is helping me to be a better person.  He disciplines me when I misbehave and he rewards me when I am his good girl.

As I write this, I think about how each of those labels has progressed and changed for me over time.  For example, when we first got married, I had no idea what being wife & husband truly meant…how hard it would be, how rewarding it would be, how it would come to mean everything to me.  With this is mind, I feel that some of my other labels may change as well.  I look forward to seeing what being my husband’s submissive will mean to me further down the road.

Thank you for stopping by!

Happy writing 🙂

~ nora

 

9 thoughts on “30 Days of Submission- Day 1

  1. As humans we have this need to put labels on everything and categorize them. As a society we place so much importance on these labels when in reality we don’t fall nearly into this label or that one, under this category or that one. But the illusion that we do gives some people comfort.

    Interesting post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, sayyidsgirl! You make an excellent point by broadening this topic to society! I remember labels being so important while growing up…”popular”, “jock”, “book worm”,…and then striving for other labels “college graduate”, “married”, “home owner”….labels have been integral part of life, I suppose…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes! So glad you’re doing this! I can’t wait to keep reading.

    Labels are a weird sort of catch-22 in that we find them useful to define. But to define ourselves limits us on what we could grow to be. The mind is endless fascinating. We are one thing but all of the things at the same time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for this thoughtful comment, darkanddominant! I like the point you make about how labels can be limiting to our potential. I will definitely continue on my 30 day journey…thank you for reading 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

